Android Income Report July 2013 Game Development

I’ll start off by showing you the numbers first:

July Revenue

July Revenue

I predicted in one of my previous posts that I will be making more than $350 this month. I actually made $333! Not bad. I didn’t cross $350 mark because my downloads reduced during the last few days. My app somehow went up into the rankings which was bringing me more than 1000 downloads a day. But now the rankings are gone and downloads reduced to 200-300 a day. 😦 I was hoping that the downloads would remain same for few more days.

Another sad thing is my app was crashing on many devices after 1 minute of game play. That was a major bug! I didn’t notice the bug until I got many 1 star ratings and started testing the game on different devices.

I will make a lot less money the next month. Also I am making a switch to another ad network PlayHaven. I was only using AdMob ads: both banner and interstitials. Now I switched all my ads in Traffic Crossing to PlayHaven ads. PlayHaven only offers interstial ads (full screen). That too they only provide CPI (Cost Per Install) ads related to other games. When people click the ad, they are taken to the Play Store link of the app, and when they install it I get paid. These type of ads suit best for my games. There is a chance of increase in CTR and revenue per install. On the other hand AdMob provides all types of irrelevant ads. So lets see how PlayHaven will help me. I have not yet implemented these new ads in my other games. Will make a switch based on this week’s observations.

In my next post I will post detailed download statistics of my game Traffic Crossing, everything from rankings, number of installs, countries, unique users etc to type of devices they are using.

About Mad Logic Dev

I’m an independent game developer trying to generate a steady income from my game development. I am a 19 year old student from India studying Computer Science and Engineering. My goal is to start earning 1000$ per month from my games within two years from now.

Posted on August 10, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Hi, you can send your app to http://www.apkudo.com, they test your app on many devices for free. I am not in any relation to this service just bookmark them for app that I developing. I hope that you will post new report soon about Playheaven and how they perform for you.

    • Thanks for the link. Submitted my game for testing. Now I switched all my ads to PlayHaven, will post a new report soon.

  2. Do you try this service? Any positive experience?

    • Yes I tried it. Unfortunately they only test whether our app opens or crashes on opening. Which is of no use because we have to do a lot of testing like clicking on buttons, playing a level, killing enemies etc.

  3. Thanks for sharing; love reading stats like this!

Leave a comment